About us

Arctic Frontiers is a catalyst for decision-making and network building by mobilizing key voices of science, policy, business, and local Arctic communities, to rapidly turn knowledge into actions.

The Arctic Frontiers Administration has, since 2007, organized the annual Arctic Frontiers conference in Tromsø, which gathers scientists, businesses, policymakers and representative of local and indigenous peoples for holistic discussions about the future of the Arctic region. Additionally, the organization hosts year-round activities, including Arctic Frontiers Abroad events, Arctic Frontiers Open events for the public and Arctic Frontiers Young events for the future generation of Arctic leaders between 5-35 years old.  

Arctic Frontiers works closely with our partner network to provide knowledge-based and up-to-date perspectives on Arctic issues. The competence and interdisciplinarity of the partner network are unique in both national and international contexts. 

The office of Arctic Frontiers is located at the Fram Centre in Tromsø, Norway. The Administration is responsible for the organisation of the annual conference, year-round events and day-to-day operations. The Administration
is led by Executive Director Anu Fredrikson, who reports to the Board of Arctic


Arctic Frontiers AS is a non-profit limited liability company 100% owned by Akvaplan-niva and is part of the NIVA group.  


Anu Fredrikson
Executive Director
Jenny Turton
Senior Advisor
[email protected]
Julia Seljeseth
Senior Advisor
[email protected]
Julia Morales-Aguirre
Morten Høylo
Katrine Opheim

Our vision: Knowledge-based solutions for a resilient, sustainable, and thriving Arctic region.

The board of Arctic Frontiers

Merete N. Kristiansen

Bo Andersen

Dag Rune Olsen

Elisabeth Svanholm Meyer

Marthe Kristin Svensson

Tor Eldevik

Chair of board

Board member

Board member

Board member

Board member

Board member



Norwegian Polar Institute

UiT the Arctic University of Norway

Innovation Norway

Troms & Finnmark County Council

University of Bergen

Strategic Science Committee

The Strategic Science Committee (SSC) consists of experts from a range of science fields, located at our partner institutions. They consult with the Arctic Frontiers team on the science portfolio and science thematics hosted at the annual conference. 

Livar Frøyland

Marc Lanteigne

Lise Øverås

Rune Storvold

Gro Birgit Ween 

Ekaterina Kim

Philipp Assmy

Institute of Marine Research

UiT The Arctic University of Norway

University of Bergen


University of Oslo

Norwegian University of Science and Technology 

Norwegian Polar Institute


Skip to content